Vancouver Symphony Orchestra


Sat Jan 11 2020 7:30pm
Chan Shun Concert Hall

Presented by the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra as part of the 2020 VSO New Music Festival

A trio of 21st  Century masterpieces by three of the most outstanding and original composers of our day. Canadian star, Nicole Lizée, re-imagines iconic scenes from The Sound of Music set to her own unique soundscape; Unsuk Chin is Korea’s most celebrated living composer, her rhapsodic Violin Concerto brought her international acclaim; the works of Kaja Saariaho (“sonic images of magnetic power” – The Guardian) magnificently evoke the distinctive colours and atmospheres of her native Finland.

Chin and Saariaho’s pieces are here (re-)interpreted by the original soloists – German-Korean violinist, Viviane Hagner and Finnish clarinetist, Kari Kriikku (“A physically flamboyant player of Olympian virtuosity” – New York Times) – who inspired the concertos and gave their world premieres. A world-class new music experience for Vancouver, and significant chapter in the VSO’s Women’s Voices initiative.

Join us for a pre-concert chat 45 minutes before concert time and a post-concert Q&A immediately following.



Nicole Lizée  Behind the Sound of Music for Orchestra and Glitch
Unsuk Chin  Violin Concerto
Kaija Saariaho  D’om le vrai sens


Approx. 90 Minute Performance


Click here to learn more about the 2020 VSO New Music Festival 


Sat Jan 11 2020 7:30pm
Chan Shun Concert Hall