Chan Centre Dot Com Series

Silkroad Ensemble: Home Within

Fri Apr 23 2021 7pm

Access to this performance ended on May 31, 2021

A digital production presented by the Chan Centre for the Performing Arts

Read about the virtual experience here


Home Within is an emotional accounting of home in a time of conflict. An audio-visual performance conceived by Syrian composer and clarinetist Kinan Azmeh and Syrian Armenian visual artist Kevork Mourad, the result is an impressionistic reflection on the unity of loss, longing, and the impact of tragedy on our sense of ‘home.’ Rather than follow a narrative, the artists document home within specific moments in Syria’s recent history, using the counterpoint between image and sound to establish a sense of sustained urgency and continued hope for their homeland and communities around the world.


Founded by Yo-Yo Ma and now led by Artistic Director Rhiannon Giddens, the “vibrant and virtuosic” (Wall Street Journal) Silkroad Ensemble is a broad-ranging collective of instrumentalists on the leading edge of radical cultural collaboration. Appearing in many configurations and settings in a wide range of projects, the musicians of Silkroad Ensemble hail from more than 20 countries, drawing on a rich tapestry of traditions to create a new musical language.


"One of the 21st century’s great ensembles"
Vancouver Sun


Filmed in spring 2021 at the Baryshnikov Arts Center’s Jerome Robbins Theater in New York City.


Fri Apr 23 2021 7pm

Access to this performance ended on May 31, 2021

Online from Apr 23 - May 31

Tune into the watch party at 7pm PT on Friday Apr 23 to view and interact with other audience members in a live chat, OR watch on demand at any time following the premiere until May 31, 2021.

We've gone digital!

In order to keep our patrons, artists, and staff safe, we’ve temporarily moved Chan Centre-presented performances online for the 2020-21 season.

Have questions about this new format? Visit our FAQ section to read more about how you can access online performances for all of the great artists in our Dot Com Series.